REVIEW – Wishing for a Star by Ana Balen

wishing for a starIt’s supposed to go like this. Boy meets girl, they fall madly in love with each other, battle some shit in their way, and after conquering the challenge, they ride off to their happily ever after.


But, not one fairytale, or love story tells you that after that ride, life happens. We had our story, and we were suppos
ed to live happily in our bubble forever. After one check-up, our bubble burst and reality started to invade. And now, facing the unsure road of IVF treatment, we have to be stronger than ever. Once again, we must go into battle for our happily ever after. Taking that first step was easy. Staying on this road is harder than we thought.


And now, with unexpected obstacles in the way, it’s not a question of if the IVF will succeed. It’s will we be strong enough to stay together and reach for the stars?

PRE-ORDER NOW!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2sRfMCD

Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2sZWmLf

33944228_10217729640532206_5850872353491255296_n

REVIEWED BY AMY M.

I know y’all know my reviews are a bit long but this one might be longer than usual but please read!

When I read the blurb for this book I instantly knew I had to read it because I hoped for honesty and truth, whether it would be ugly or not. This is the first book that will be published by this author and I am so incredibly grateful she contacted us because she tells an amazing story that a lot of woman go through but no one writes.

This was a very personal read for me because we are struggling with not being able to have a kid and I was a ball of mess reading even the first chapter but this story should be read by EVERYONE! You get those stories of an unexpected pregnancy or the first try and BAM, shes pregnant with triplets but no one ever writes about the other side of some women’s stories. The hard struggle that it isn’t so easy and the things people say to you that just make what you are going through that much harder.

I will say that a few things annoyed me about Dani, while I understood why she would do what she did and how she overcame certain obstacles but DAMN girl come on! Sam is the ultimate male and husband because even though things didn’t start off on a good foundation, he would strive to do anything to make it better. Although, as much as I LOVED Sam and his damn orders and hotness, I was also super pissed off at him for things that could be easily fixed.

Also, I really like for both Dani and Sam to have the same POV since Dani was first person keep Sam at first person instead of going to third person. I’m not sure why you chose to do that but for readers its just an easier read to keep them the same.

I saw quite a bit of myself in Dani and the way she would keep her distant from her friends or how she would react to certain situations are exactly how I reacted. But the courage this woman possess is beyond remarkable because for us, after 6 years we still don’t have ours. Sam is different than my husband because while I thought Sam was doing all he could do make things better for Dani, I feel like he definitely could have handled several situations better and speak his truth. But I also sense that it was Dani’s fault for most of those occasions.

I am 100% in love with this book and the way Ana told this story!! You didn’t shy away from the ugly of the truth or did you sugar coat it and I applaud you for being true to us women who don’t have it so easy. I hope that you inspire so many woman with the hope of getting their baby because even though I may not get mine, I do have hope and love in my heart for the day I get chosen to be a mother. So many tears but so worth the read!

 

4_5-star-review

Leave a comment