*REVIEW* The Corner Office by Katerina Baker

the corner office

amazon

SYNOPSIS

Tara Johnson’s sacrifices are about to pay off: a senior executive at thirty-five at a Fortune 500 company, she’s one of the two finalists in line for a Managing Director position. Unfortunately, her rival of fifteen years, the charming, infuriating Richard Boyd, is just as qualified, and unlike her, he’s willing to cross pretty much every line to get what he wants.

Of all the things Tara stored in the attic to make it to the top, it’s her personal life she misses the most. That is, until she starts a steamy affair with sex god Aidan, her direct report. Interoffice relationships with a subordinate can mean the end of a career, and when Richard finds out, it’s the perfect opportunity to take his high-heeled nemesis out, especially since he’s still nursing a grudge against Tara for rejecting him years ago.

But Tara’s increasingly domineering lover has his own dark secrets, endangering more than just her career. As her liaison spirals out of control, salvation will come from the man she always thought she hated, and perhaps the only one to truly understand her.

REVIEWED BY AMY M

This was a new author to me and one I was pretty excited she contacted us because after reading this book, I’m hooked. Ms. Baker had set a bar with the synopsis and one that intrigued me because it seemed like it would have so much drama and I LOVE drama! Now some parts hit close to home about Tara (the main character) because she is dealing with things at home regarding her mother and I was so scared to read this book. But even though I was terrified I kept going regardless of what was going to happen because I was just too involved to not read this book now.

Tara is this bad ass executive and she has worked so hard to become where she is in her life but life has a way of smacking you back into reality and saying “more, more, more”. She always thought that she was content in life being the bad ass that she was as a senior executive and just going to spend time with her mom, but things change. My FAVORITE part is where we meet her rivalry Richard, because you can just tell he doesn’t believe his shit doesn’t stink and he is like a gift to all woman. Although, I really did not like Richard at the very beginning I thought I started to see a different side of him that he kept hidden away to protect how people would perceive him.

We also get this hot bad boy/sexy man wearing a suit thrown into the mix when Tara hires a new employee for her team. At an awkward celebration things turn into more than I thought would happen and Tara starts to rethink being alone for the rest of her life. But little did she know that she was already trapped and her knight in shinning armor would be someone EVERYONE least expected. My feelings towards Aidan was very unexpected and all over the place, and although I enjoyed this sexy man, I leaned more towards dislike.

When I started to read this book I was unsure how everything would turn out in the long run and I was nervous about the outcome of every situation that popped up throughout the book. This book was going to end in a HUGE BANG! I applaud this talented author for having so many things for me to focus on and still keep me interested in every single aspect. At one point I jumped out of my seat because I was so wrapped up into the story that it scared the crap out of me. I have found a new author that I am certainly going to keep my eye on and wait to see what she has in store for us in the future! Congrats on this coming soon release!!

 

rtlopzjkc

Leave a Reply

